Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Wat shud I do next.
Hostony Board > General > Pre-Sales Questions
yky
Hi,

I've just sent my order form through. And waiting for you guyz to send me information regarding the username and paswd. I was thinking of doing a whole backup of my site and all my emails from my old host so i can up load it here on Hostony servers. I'm using cPanel5 and cPanelGUI, i know on these you can do a complete backup, as i am new to this i dont relly know what shud i'll be doing and wat shud i be backing up. and how will i be able to upload it once its all backed up.

If i changed the dns settings from my domain, will i lose all the informaiton/data which i've stored on the previous host server's. and wat other things shud i be doing before changing the dns settings?

Regards.
Y.K.Y.
Shurik
Ok. There are at least 2 ways for you to move your site on our server.

1. I can try to use built-in CPanel function named "Copy an account from another server with account password" :wink:
So if remote server (I mean your old host) is running Cpanel and I have your account login and password then I can copy your account automatically. It is the easiest way and it will preserve your account's settings.

Disadvantages of this way:
a) I've already created account for your on our server and I have to delete it previously but I have a bad experience deleteing accounts from CPanel. It don't delete accounts safely and If I try to create it again I, possibly, will have some problems. So it is need to check manually some configs to be sure that account was deleted completely.
cool.gif I am not sure that configuration of that remote server 100% identical with ours one. So maybe not all settings will be transferred (for instance Skin, third-party sofware settings) and it may cause some problems for you (and for me smile.gif )

But all data - your files, scripts, databases, mail will be transfered.