Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: As new as I am to Hostony, I've got some comments
Hostony Board > General Support > General Support
thesteve
Doubtless, I am new to Hostony. The plans advertised are a much better value, as far as money goes, than most other hosts available. As I've found out, it is very likely that the money you saved by using Hostony will be spent, many times over, on consultants who will do what Hostony promises to do.

I spent a day and a half trying to get the support personnel to change my ASP.NET script permissions so they can write to two specific folders on my site. In the end, a second Hostony support technician changed my ASP.NET machine account's permissions so that it has read and write permissions to everything in my wwwroot folder. It is a compromise, and I am willing to ###### up the insecurity if it will allow my scripts to work properly.

Now my scripts won't even read from my Access database because the server stops them from doing so. I am not pleased with this outcome.

Regardless of how frustrated I become at the seeming ineptitude of Hostony tech support, I try to realize that in the end, they are people to, just like me. I've worked tech support jobs; I know the customers can be extremely aggravating and difficult to work with. It's sometimes hard to understand what the customer wants support to do, and sometimes it's because the customer doesn't know what they want!

At Hostony there is an extra problem because of the language barrier. I honestly don't know if the support personnel are trained to only answer one question per reply to a trouble ticket, or if it simply takes that much effort to translate the request into their language that they forget about the rest of the question. While I grow tired of asking the same question multiple times in the same trouble ticket, I do so without browbeating the technician because I know that, with enough tenacity, my question will be answered.