Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Some pre-purchase hosting questions!
Hostony Board > General > Pre-Sales Questions
Thalia
Hi! I'm currently shopping around for a good web host, and this looks promising so far. But I have some questions....

-Firstly (and ost importantly) do you take international orders? I am in the UK- is this a problem?

-Can I see your Terms of Service/Terms and Conditions? I can't seem to find it anywhere, and I need to see t before making any decisions....?

-Will you place ad banners or popups of any kind on my web pages?

-Are there limits on the size and type of files that I can upload? I am an artist and animator looking to build a portfolio site to showcase artwork, writing, short animations and computer game design projects, this will include large image files, .AVI video files and possibly .zip files?

-Are there limits on how many files I can upload per day/week/month?

-Some hosts include a clause in the small print stating that they have the right to freely use or distribute any content that I upload. Obviously I do not want my work distributed without my permission, so is this the case with your web hosting packages?

-Can you explain the 'free' domain name offer to me. Am I right in thinking that this is only for the first twelve months if I pay yearly, and I will have to pay the full price when I renew it next year? (that's the case for most web hosts and I expect it- i'm just asking because i don't want any surprise bills!)

-Will I get a warning by email when I begin to run out of space or if my bandwidth goes over the limit? (not likely, but i'd rather know.) Or will you just charge me?
Also, will I be notified when I need to renew the web space/domain name?

Apologies for the interrogation, just trying to be thourough so I don't get any nasty surpises later..... sorry! unsure.gif

Thanks very much!
--Thalia
Alexandre