Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How to Customize phpBB
Hostony Board > Cpanel/WebHost Manager support > Cpanel/WHM Issues
Mikr0n
Is there any documentation that Hostony has that will tell me step by step how to customize the Bulletin Board that is included with my Linux account? When it comes to anything of this sort I am a complete Newbie.

Thanks,
Marcus Draper
MartinB
http://www.phpbb.com/
you have a lot of info there.
greetings
Mikr0n
Thanks for the info. I will check it out and hopefully be able to understand what I am doing.

biggrin.gif
MartinB
You're welcome smile.gif
Mikr0n
My big thing is trying to figure out where the file is that acts as the index page. I have tried to edit the index.php and other .php files and it is just code and nothing that I can edit in an html editor. Is there something that I am missing?
MartinB
give a look at your "templates" directory, inside must be a "subsilver" style (if you have not installed another custom template).

Inside the subSilver directory are all the files of the template, if you want the index, look for something like "overall_body.tmpl" or something like that (sorry I don't remember it in details, I'll tell you paths in more detail tomorrow from my work.)

There you have all the template visual componentes(HTML, styles, images, blah blah)

going to sleep, have a good night smile.gif
Mikr0n
Thanks a bunch. That was what I needed to know. biggrin.gif
Mikr0n
Another thing. I am installing phpbb from a fresh download from their web site. What is the Database Type that is on a Linux server for Hostony?
Lehrer
The database type for Linux servers is called MYsql.
Mikr0n
When asked for a Database Type here are my options:

MY Sql 3.x
My Sql 4.x
PostgreSQL 7.x
MySQL Server 7/2000
MS Access [ODBC]
MS SQL Server [ODBC]

Whenever I try any of these none of them work for the install.
MartinB
you can use My Sql 3.x or My Sql 4.x