Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Running a passworded Site/Pages
Hostony Board > General Support > HowTo
MicahR79
Hi I am quite new to this whole thing. I was wondering if anyone had any info on how to run a secure site. I set up the whole passworded folder thing, I just don't know how to make a page like yahoo has for instance for someone to sign in and it somehow be connected to those passworded folders. Is there any type of reading or posts or learning places someone could refer me to.
Thanks,
Micah
winabe
If you have a linux account then you can use a .htaccess file to secure your folder. More infos here:
http://www.javascriptkit.com/howto/htaccess3.shtml
MicahR79
I have a Windows account with helm control panel however I believe that it uses the same .htaccess file when I add that feature to a folder. My question is how do I let someone sign in and see those pages? Does anyone have any books they recommend for doing web site security programming or any info on the web concerning this.
Thanks,
Micah
JasonJones
Not books, but you can Hire me to design your infastructure.

Jason
MicahR79
Thanks for the offer Jason but I could afford to have you do all that I would like to do on my site; furthermore, I want to know for myself. So give me the reference to the books or I will continually make these faces at you mad.gif

Consequently I have tried some things out. I created a .htaccess file and added it to the directories that I want the pop up dialog box asking for a user name and password to appear; however, I am not seeing the results I had hoped for. i.e. no dialog box is poping up. Here is what the file contained basically,

AuthType Basic
AuthName "Have You Requested a User Name and Password"
AuthUserFile /secure
AuthName EnterPassword
require user require valid-user

Will this work with a Windows HELM based system. Does anyone know what might be wrong?
JasonJones
Books, well most all the good ones are by O'Reily & Assoc.