Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Suggestions from 05/06/03
Hostony Board > General Support > Suggestions
thuskey
So many people have expressed various emotions about todays outage of the server10 web server. Resolution of the issue, although long over due, has now been achieved. As a new customer of Hostony, I would like to give them another chance. If I was to judge their overall service and performance level on the events that have happened here in my first week, I would be acting totally unfair. Being a unix/linux administrator myself, I deal with these situations from time to time as well and understand the hurdles you have to overcome to keep your servers functioning.

From experience, every good administrator should do three things after each outage:

1) Research and thouroghly understand the events that lead up to an outage.
2) React to those findings by developing and initiating new procedures to avoid repeating the outage.
3) Develop a plan of action to improve resolution times or to make a similar outage vitually transparent to all users.

It's obvious I'm not going to be able to help you research the actual events that lead up to todays outage, but I do have a few suggestion on what would make me, your customer, feel better next time an outage occurs. I encourage all readers of this post to include your suggestion and show your continued support for Hostony.

1) In case of a server outage, I would appreciate it if my customers were forwarded to a "We are currently experiencing technical difficulties" page, even if it resides on another server. I would rather my customers not see the "Can not find server" or "404 not found" and especially not the "Internal Server Error" message. This make a bad impression on my company which is reflected in my overall sales.