Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: forms and handler
Hostony Board > General > Anything and Everything
emiliejay
Hello All,

I have put together a webpage and I am currently trying to put together a feedback form that will email me comments and suggestions from those that visit my site. However, I am having a problem getting the cgi script that I am using to work or maybe I am just not doing it correctly.

Anyone out there that can help me with this? I am a beginner at webdesign and learning as I go along.

Many thanks

ej
phobos
You can write own freedback application or use some scripts collection.
I recommend you to use PHP on Linux or ASP on Windows, because those scripting languages are most progressive and easy to learn.

If you don't wanna learn scripting languages you can find huge scripts collection at Hotscripts.com.
emiliejay
Thank you phobos for your input. I looked at the site you recommended and there is some great stuff there. Now to get it to work...lol. I am determined to get this feedback form off the ground.

I do have one more question. Last year, I had enquired about my account supporting ASP. At the time I was told it did not. Has this changed?

I am still having difficulty with setting this up. Mainly where do I place the files, what do I need to change in some of the scripts to accomadate my needs for my page etc. Most of the tutorials I have read assumes you know more (I am new to all of this, so it can be fustrating when those steps are missing). The concept of how it works I understand but I don't have the basic programming knowledge to pull me through to make this successful without spending hours and hours of trial and error.

Many thanks
ej
Stanly
1. Linux still don't support ASP at our servers.
2. Sure, you need to configure each script. Look at README file for this script.
emiliejay
oh my! and I thought I was confused before.