Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: IMAP email support
Hostony Board > General > Pre-Sales Questions
Anonymous
HI,

I'm searching for a resellers account that supports IMAP email clients..... as you may know most don't! I understand that the latest version of CPanel does support IMAP (although I have no first hand experience). Could you confirm for me that you do provide the IMAP server components as part of resellers account, and if so, do you have customers actually using the servers? The reason I'm asking is that I understand that IMAP email setup and maintiance can be complicated, so I'm looking for a host with some experience. Really, most don't! :idea:

thanks,
Craig
Shurik
Hello.

Yes we support IMAP. Why do you think that IMAP support is complcated? This is ordinary thing.

Unfortunately I haven't counted how many our customers use IMAP but when I check system logs I see messages about IMAP connections, so we do have users who use IMAP biggrin.gif
Anonymous
Thanks... I guess it's mostly due to never setting up an IMAP account, and from my discussions with other hosts that DONT support it. But stay tuned... because I'm going to try out your services shortly!

-Craig
Anonymous
I'd also like to find out more about Hostony's IMAP capabilities and email capabilities in general. This is both for myself because I'm looking for a provider and for my "IMAP Service Providers" page, which is where I'm collecting a lot of the information that I'm learning during my quest for a provider. Here are some questions:

* What IMAP server software are you running (UW, Cyrus, Courier, etc)?

* Do you support secure IMAP access? If so, what are the options (CRAM-MD5, IMAP-over-TLS, etc)?

* What is the name of your IMAP server so I can telnet to it and issue the CAPABILITY command and find out more about how it's configured?

* Can users who have ssh access write their own Procmail recipes?

* What version of Procmail do you have installed?