Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: PostGreSQL Help
Hostony Board > General Support > General Support
vividbeam
Okay, this is my VERY first time installing a PostgreSQL script so I am VERY confused on how and what this all means. If you could help me that would be fabulous! tongue.gif

- Install Apache with PHP

- Postgresql version > 7.3

- su - postgres
createdb rateme
psql rateme < rateme_schema.sql
psql rateme < rateme_dump_tables.sql

- create virtual apache host.

These were the instructions I was given to install the script. If you could give instructions on where I need to go in my cpanel and what to do to install it i'd greatly appreciate it.
Stanly
- Install Apache with PHP
- Postgresql version > 7.3
Already installed.

- su - postgres
createdb rateme

You need to go to your CPanel -> PostgreSQL Databases and create database called rateme

You can do this via phpPgAdmin (located at the CPanel -> PostgreSQL Databases)

create virtual apache host

Already done.
vividbeam
Thanks so much! Oh one question though.

For that, which category do I put it in and do I put the whole line (ex:psql rateme < rateme_schema.sql) in there?

Tables
Views
Sequences
Functions
Types
Stanly
You need to open these files and put their entry to the database rateme
vividbeam
I'm sorry for being such a hassle but I have no idea how to find these files. Im in the phpPgAdmin section but all I see are tons and tons of links. Do you know where these specific files may be located?
Stanly
You are in phpPgAdmin

1. Click at the database name at the left side.

2. As you can see you have buttons at the top of main screen (Schemas, SQL, Find, Variables, Processes, Admin, Privileges, Export)
Click at the "SQL" button, open rateme_schema.sql file at your local computer and put its entries to the "Enter the SQL to execute below" field.

Then do the same actions for rateme_dump_tables.sql file.

That's all.
vividbeam