IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dreamweaver 4 tip
horhey23
post Mar 5 2004, 10:02 PM
Post #1


Junior Member


Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 5-March 04
Member No.: 535



I was having proplems with FTP within Dreamvweaver 4 until I checked the "Use passive FTP" checkbox under the Remote info tab. Everything worked great afterwards.

Thought I would post for other users with the same issue.

George


--------------------
georgecoghill.com
illustration & design
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alexandre
post Mar 21 2004, 07:38 PM
Post #2


Hostony staff


Group: Members
Posts: 1565
Joined: 12-December 03
Member No.: 365



Yes you have to use "passive mode" to access the server via FTP.
This is a secure issue.


--------------------
If a man knows a lot and he knows that he knows - he is a great man.
If a man knows nothing, but he knows that he knows nothing - we must help him.
If a man knows nothing and he doesn't know that he knows nothing - nobody can help him
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
phobos
post Mar 25 2004, 09:56 AM
Post #3





Guests






Passive mode is useful feature for users that are under firewall protection (usually ISP enable it to protect own customers).
If you choose passive mode you can access FTP server even if your computer under NAT server (do not have public ip address).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Webslave
post Jul 8 2004, 09:44 AM
Post #4


Junior Member


Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 2-July 04
Member No.: 855



Best FTP programm i've found is the old WINDOWS COMMANDER programm which changed name, but i don't know to which programm name they changed but they are the best!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MicahR79
post Nov 29 2004, 06:49 PM
Post #5


Junior Member


Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 28-November 04
Member No.: 1190



What is the difference between the passive and "active"(i guess) I have left it with the passive unchecked and it works fine most of the time; however, sometimes it can't find server at first and then I just refresh and its off and running or just wait a few mins and it takes care of it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alec
post Nov 30 2004, 10:17 AM
Post #6


Hostony staff


Group: Members
Posts: 2773
Joined: 26-September 02
From: UK
Member No.: 24



Please read here about it:

http://slacksite.com/other/ftp.html
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MicahR79
post Dec 1 2004, 12:59 AM
Post #7


Junior Member


Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 28-November 04
Member No.: 1190



QUOTE(Alec @ Nov 30 2004, 10:17 AM)
Please read here about it:

http://slacksite.com/other/ftp.html

Okay so I read all that technical mumbo jumbo just to get to the end where it had a summary that I could actually understand. Esentially for all who are entirely too lazy to even skim to the bottom of that page. Active is better for the FTP admin and Passive is better for the Client. I guess in the case of web server we would be that client so Passive is better.

Those are my thoughts tell me yours.

Thanks,
Micah
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ser_pros
post Dec 13 2004, 12:45 AM
Post #8


Hostony staff


Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 11-November 04
Member No.: 1165



Yes I agree with you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th April 2018 - 11:53 PM